The Father Role

There are many roles in life that we as men will take on.  First we are sons.  We grow up and become amigos, boyfriends, fiances, husbands, etc…  However, I believe that the most interesting, entertaining, fulfilling, and downright crazy/stressful role I have ever experienced as a man is that of being a father.

My son, also named John, is almost a year old.  This past year has flown by so fast that it really is all a blur to me.  Little sleep, little food, and constant worry about are we doing the right thing for our child can make a man GO CRAZY!!!! However, raising my son has been one of the greatest things I have ever experienced.  It is amazing to watch him grow and learn.  He loves to watch football and basketball with me, we both laugh at bodily function noises, and I can’t wait until the day that I can throw the football with him or take him to Buckeye and Bills games.

Another aspect of being a father is all of the interesting situations that you find yourself in.  Random people who would have never even glanced your way on a normal day will now stop to talk and chat, make googley eyes and sounds at your child, and god forbid reach out and touch the baby’s hands!  Dear person on the sidewalk who I just randomly met for the first time ever on our family walk, PLEASE DON’T TOUCH MY CHILD’S HANDS WITH YOUR GERM RIDDEN MITTS!  He constantly puts his hands in his mouth, and I have no idea what you do on a day to day basis.  Also, people are much nicer to you. Drivers will let you merge in front of them or take a parking spot because they see a Baby on Board sign hanging the the back window of the car.  Some folks will allow you to move in front of them in the checkout line, awesome.  A small baby really can be used for all kinds of advantages.  Also, single guys out there, women love babies and I will just let your mind wonder to all of the possibilities.

Also, I am not sure that you were aware, but as soon as your child squeezes its way out of the birth canal, you get your membership card to the Parenthood.  You are now in an exclusive club with all other human beings who have had a child.  You get to talk about secret stuff like parenting methods, the most ridiculous stuff you somehow allow your child to do, and whether a baby can ‘cry it out’ or not.  Exhilarating.

So this is the first of many fatherly thoughts, questions, and prayers you will see  from me on thefourBS as parenting is nutso.

I will leave you with the final thought

DEATH TO EEYORE!

Leave a Reply

