Drawn to magic Part 4

I instantly grab my chest for the physical pain that came after the slap.  What is this feeling?  I feel weak. I drop to my knees.  What did he do to me?  Is Arnold trying to kill me?  I have nothing worth taking and he has been my best friend since I can remember.  I look up at him.  LAUGHING?! Why is he laughing at me?

The pain is unlike anything I’ve ever experienced, by whole body is flaring.  I fall from my knees on to my right shoulder.  I stare up to the sky hoping death isn’t near.

I can’t breathe. This is it.

“You are a weakling.  I sure didn’t act like this when I did it.”  Arnold says with a smile.  “Here let me help you up.”

He reaches down and grabs my arms.  I’m not sure what I should be doing now, but I give in and rise with him.  As I’m standing up I catch my breath and start gasping for air falling on to Arnold.  It sure feels good to breath.  The pain in my body slowly starts to go away and within seconds I feel normal again.

“What was that Arnold?  WHAT ARE YOU DOING TO ME?”

“Chill man.  It’s all good.  I created this spell and let me show you how it works. Take a deep breath Christian.”

“You almost killed me and you want me to trust you about breathing already?  You have got to be out of your mind.  I need a break, some sleep or anything other than what you are going to do to me.”

“Ok, Ok.  After you take a deep breath this will be it.  Then we can go back to the tavern or that dumpster you call a house.  I’m no letting you leave without doing this”

“Fine…” I take in a deep breath and give him a ‘is this good enough’ look.  In the blink of an eye, he has a bag over my head and is sealing it off.  HE IS TRYING TO KILL ME.

I try to fight him off but it is no use, not only is he better at life he is also stronger than me.  I would have never guessed this is how I would die.

“Christian exhale, and breath.  Trust me, this will be GLORIOUS!”

I don’t know why he wants me to breathe there is no damn oxygen in here. I’m helpless, I’m flailing around with nothing happening.  In my panic I exhale everything, and by instinct start to inhale.  Wait.  What just happened?  I can exhale and inhale, with no oxygen left in this bag.  Arnold knows I’m not fighting him anymore and releases me.  I stand there for a bit catching my thoughts about breathing inside a sealed bag.

I take off the mask and look to Arnold who is grinning as big as ever, “See Christian.  I told this was awesome.  WE CAN INHALE WHAT WE EXHALE.  That means all we need is a sealed mask and we can travel anywhere we couldn’t breathe before. Like,  UNDERWATER!”

“I’m still trying to wrap my head around this.  So you filled the bubble with the air we exhale, then shoved the bubble into my body while I inhaled so lungs would fill with that instead of oxygen.  THAT IS GENIOUS.  How did you everthink of something like that, Arnold?”

“I’ve just been experimenting with anything and everything.  I’ve tried so many thing and by accident I created the bubble.  Once I had the bubble I started filling it and seeing what I could do with it.  Eventually,  I just went ahead and tried this.  I thought I had killed myself on accident when my body went through the changes.  It didn’t sink in that it worked until I was laying under my covers and the air never got tight.  Christian, we are going to have some fun with this!”

I was excited and wanted more, “What should we do first?”

Leave a Reply

