Taco Bell

Growing up you always here adults say, “You’re too young to know what love is.” or “When you grow up you will understand how life works.”  I started to believe this rif raf at a young age.  Thinking everything I knew and loved was actually a lie. Knowing that love could not truly be known until the eldest of ages.

Now, about to tun 30 I reflect on a feeling that was true.  A feeling that was constant. A feeling that when everything in this world was against me, it was for me.  That feeling is a Cheesy Gordita Crunch crushing between my teeth.  The deteriorated food particles painting my taste buds with heaven on earth.  Softly messaging my throat as it makes it’s way to my digestive track.  The feeling of pure love. Taste. Love.

There have been multiple times in my life when I wasn’t sure where I was going.  I would think long and hard about what the life ahead of me.  Would it be good, would it be bad, or would it be like a fire sauce on top of a Doritos Locos Taco.  Having such deep thoughts makes you go crazy.  There really wasn’t a remedy. I could sit in the deepest of thoughts and try to get my life straight, or ring that bell to straighten it for me.

When you are standing in line there is a sense of urgency.  It must be what Alexander felt when he became great.  He must have known the feeling of conquering a great order, and feasting on spoils from your victory.  There have been more than a few times that the taco has made its way above my head in a victorious taco fist pump.  I don’t like to brag, but when you hold such gold in your hand, how can you not show off.

I love the Bell. I love the handheld delicious treat in front of me.  The melt of the cheese. The crunch of a hard corn tortilla.  The slight burn of one too many fire sauce packets.  And the tear rolling down my face of pure happiness. Only Nicholas Sparks could do just for the love story between my taste buds, the food from Taco bell, and the people that try to keep us apart.

To all you young people being told not to love or grow up.  I tell you. Find the Bell.  Find the love.  I know you have it in you to change the elders opinions.  Soon, I too will be an elder hopefully learning from the mistakes I’ve seen.  And when you ever have doubt, know that Elton John is on your side. The proof is in “Can you feel the love tonight”:

And can you feel the love tonight

How it’s laid to rest

It’s enough to make kings and vagabonds

Believe the very best

BELIEVE THE BELL. Show them elders love can be learned early, you just need to have your bell rung.  No concussions of course, just that delicious dinner bell!

 

One thought on “Taco Bell

Leave a Reply

